Algae, the sustainable superfood

Hi folks,

I tried algae for the first time – except for kombu algae and similar, which I used to eat while living in Japan. I tried organic algae hand-harvested on the West coast of Irland – so they write on the label.

Are you wondering about the taste? It is… ehm… peculiar. I didn’t dislike it though. In my opinion, the taste resembled much that of seafood – seafood towards the harbour O.0

It all comes down on how you combine them – see below under “How do I eat algae”.

atlantic6902

Image courtesy of ALGA-NET

Why shall I eat algae?

Because they are a kind of food as for now produced in an ultra sustainable way and they are super nutritious. For example, 100g of algae contains on avarage 200% of the RDA of Vitamin B12, 480% of the RDA of calcium and 241% of RDA of magnesium. In fact, they are a superfood. And if you are a real Green Addict like me, you’d like to think of where your food comes from and you’d strive to eat as local as possible. Contrary to many superfoods praised by numerous health coaches, this superfood is currently available in Europe, so it does not have to travel long before hitting your table.

How do I eat algae?

Put it on the top of your soup or in the salad, instead of croutons. They are dried and crunchy, which makes it a nice texture contrast. Try it on fresh peas homemade soup… it blends in the flavor very well!

Good luck with your experiments in the kitchen,

GA

PS: I bought wild organic algae called “Atlantic Carragheen”, or “Chondrus Crispus”. I found them at the bio supermarket NaturaSì.

Leave a Reply

